The Final Sprint

So the last two or three weeks have been packed! I’ve finally got my Art A-level out the way for good having managed to bring all my work together onto mountboards as well as completing a fifteen-hour practical examination under the beady eyes of a somewhat pretentious examiner. Regardless of how it went, I have freed up quite a bit of time to focus on the other two subjects which is a huge weight off my chest. It’s also given me a little more free time in which to write – and that is exactly what I have been doing.

I’ve picked up my short story again from under all the other accumulating papers and bung it back into the typewriter; I’m now about three pages away from completion. I have to say that so far there hasn’t been a moment of writing this short story that I haven’t enjoyed and watching it come together is very exciting. I’ve reached the final scenes where a character’s madness is realised and the grizzly denouement is foreshadowed so I can’t wait to power on through and get to the end. Hopefully, I’ll finish it this weekend and get onto the revisions next week.

I’ve also started to put together my quotes bank for my English exams. This entails reading through all my books: The Grapes of Wrath, The Great Gatsby, Christin Rossetti Poems, A Doll’s House and Twelfth Night and selecting the write quotes to learn to help me answer the questions as well as reading further articles by critics such as Dr Pamela Bickley to help give “alternative interpretations” in my answers. It’s all very long winded but I’m getting there.

And finally, I’ve started to book hostels and trains for my month travelling around Europe. So far I’ve reserved seats on the Eurostar and booked hostels in Amsterdam and Berlin. Next is Poland and then Prague. I’m thinking of getting a lovely old film camera for taking photos – what can I say? I’m a romantic at heart, hence the typewriters. Any suggestions on cameras?

Cheers

 

Author: A Road to Writing

Typewriter obsessed romantic who can think of nothing better than writing, coffee, music, and the odd remedial shot of tequila.

Leave a Reply

