Am Writing 

I’ve started typing the first draft of  my short story which at the moment has been given the title “A Bird’s Nest”. I’ve found it a lot easier than I thought it would be but then again it is only the first draft and I may look back on it and detest it. Anyway in terms of the actual writing I’m well on the way to getting it done in the next few days – in fact there is a chance I’ll exceed the word count! So far I’ve calculated that four pages per scene will be fine and I’m finding that I get through these quite quickly; that’s either a good thing or a bad thing. I’m really enjoying being able to start a story and have it develop rapidly instead of gradually like in a novel which brings me onto my next point.

Chapter two is finished! This was considerably longer than the first so I’m pretty happy it’s done. I can see that chapter three, mind you, is going to be a bit trickier to tackle. I’m still deciding on the character’s tone and story. I’m hoping that by the end of chapter four; when all the characters have had their say; I’ll have got this problem under my belt. 

Any tips on overcoming this problem if all else fails?

Author: A Road to Writing

Typewriter obsessed romantic who can think of nothing better than writing, coffee, music, and the odd remedial shot of tequila.

Leave a Reply

